What's Your Language?

Monday, July 21, 2014

Recap: Game 98 - Mets (1) at Padres (2) - Bad Day for Mets Bats, Despaigne no-hits them thru 7.2 Innings


New York

San Diego

W: J. Benoit (4-2) L: V. Black (2-3)
HR: NYM - None   SD - Y. Grandal (9)


Josh Edgin couldn't handle Seth Smith's chopper back to the mound in the bottom of the ninth inning as Cameron Maybin scored the winning run in the San Diego Padres' 2-1 win over the New York Mets.

Carlos Quentin drew a leadoff, pinch-hit walk to start the ninth against Vic Black (2-3) and Maybin came on as a pinch-runner. Black's error on Alexi Amarista's sacrifice put Maybin on second, and he reached third when Chase Headley grounded into a double play.

Edgin then came on to face the lefty Smith, who worked the count full before delivering his third career game-winning hit, an infield single that he narrowly beat out.

Smith went 3-for-5 to help San Diego win the rubber match of this three-game set from Petco Park.

Odrisamer Despaigne pitched 7 2/3 no-hit innings in just his fifth major league start for the Padres. The 27-year-old Cuban's final line included a run on two hits and three walks.

Despaigne's major league career was off to a terrific start even before Sunday's near-historic outing. In his first four starts in the bigs -- all against NL West opponents -- he had only surrendered four runs on 18 hits.

The Padres remain the only active franchise without a no-hitter.

Despaigne's no-hit bid overshadowed Mets starter Zack Wheeler, who fanned seven in six innings of work. Wheeler allowed just a run on eight hits and has now given up one run in each of his last four starts.

Despaigne needed just 75 pitches to get through the first six innings, but his control slipped as the game went on.

Lucas Duda was hit in the foot by a breaking ball and Bobby Abreu and Juan Lagares drew consecutive walks to load the bases. Despaigne's 100th pitch of the contest got Ruben Tejada to ground back to the mound, ending the seventh.

Yasmani Grandal's solo home run in the fourth inning plated the game's only run until the top of the eighth, when New York finally broke through and tied it.

Despaigne appeared to have regained his control, striking out the first two batters he faced in the eighth before Daniel Murphy went the other way, doubling to left-center to break up the no-hitter. With the pressure of getting no-hit no longer lingering, David Wright followed Murphy's two-bagger with a single up the middle, plating the tying run.

Wright had been 0-for-22 against the Padres this season prior to that at-bat.

Joaquin Benoit (4-2) pitched a clean top of the ninth to earn the win.

Game Notes

Wheeler is unbeaten over his last four starts ... San Diego outhit New York, 11-3 ... Smith's last walkoff came on July 6, 2010, against St. Louis ... San Diego went 1-for-11 with runners in scoring position, stranding 11 ... Will Venable, Jake Goebbert and Chris Nelson all had two hits for the Padres.

Box Score:

Curtis Granderson RF300000012.238
Daniel Murphy 2B411010001.289
David Wright 3B401100001.279
Lucas Duda 1B301000000.258
Travis d`Arnaud C400000001.223
Bobby Abreu LF200000010.259
  Jeurys Familia P0000000001.000
  Eric Young PH100000001.235
  Vic Black P000000000.000
  Josh Edgin P000000000.000
Juan Lagares CF300000010.288
Ruben Tejada SS300000000.233
Zack Wheeler P100000000.067
  Dana Eveland P000000000.000
  Kirk Nieuwenhuis PH-LF100000001.259
Alexi Amarista SS400000000.236
Chase Headley 3B501010001.229
Seth Smith LF503100002.284
Yasmani Grandal C411100101.214
Will Venable CF402001002.208
Chris Denorfia RF400000002.239
Jake Goebbert 1B302000010.268
Chris Nelson 2B302000010.400
Odrisamer Despaigne P300000001.000
  Alex Torres P000000000.000
  Kevin Quackenbush P000000000.000
  Joaquin Benoit P000000000.000
  Carlos Quentin PH000000010.176
  Cameron Maybin PR010000000.247

E_V.Black. LOB_NY Mets 7, San Diego 11. 2B_D.Murphy, C.Headley. 3B_W.Venable. HR_Y.Grandal (9) off Z.Wheeler. S_Z.Wheeler, A.Amarista. SB_W.Venable (6). GIDP_C.Headley, C.Nelson. DP_NY Mets 2 (D.Wright, D.Murphy and L.Duda), (D.Murphy, L.Duda and R.Tejada).

Zack Wheeler6.0811171106-683.78
Dana Eveland1.010001017-112.16
Jeurys Familia1.010011012-61.98
Vic Black (L 2-3)0.201110010-42.01
Josh Edgin0.01000007-41.69
Odrisamer Despaigne7.2211350123-751.31
Alex Torres0.01000003-32.41
Kevin Quackenbush0.10000104-32.57
Joaquin Benoit (W 4-2)1.00000108-51.99

A.Torres pitched to 1 batter in the 8th.

IBB_off Z.Wheeler (C.Nelson), off J.Familia (J.Goebbert). 
HBP_by O.Despaigne (R.Tejada,L.Duda). 
T_3:07. A_31513.
Umpires_Home,Chris Guccione; First, Eric Cooper; Second, Tom Hallion; Third, Hal Gibson III.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...