What's Your Language?

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Recap: Game 65 - Brewers (3) at Mets (1) - deGrom loses another heartbreaker



New York

W: W. Peralta (6-5) L: J. deGrom (0-3) S: F. Rodriguez (20)
HR: MIL - None   NYM - None


Wily Peralta retired nine of the last 10 batters he faced in 6 1/3 solid innings and the Milwaukee Brewers beat the New York Mets 3-1 on Wednesday night.

Peralta (6-5) won his second straight start, giving up just one run on four hits and a walk while trimming his ERA from 3.03 to 2.90 for the season.

Jonathan Lucroy had three hits, including two doubles, and scored a run for the Brewers, who have won three of their last four.

Curtis Granderson reached base the first three times he was up on a walk, a single and a double for the Mets, who had won the opener of the three-game series 6-2 on Tuesday after losing the last six games of a brutal 11-game road trip.

Granderson scored New York's only run on Lucas Duda's sacrifice fly in the second inning.

Mets right-hander Jacob deGrom (0-3) remained winless in his first six MLB starts. The 25-year-old rookie gave up three runs on nine hits and a walk in 5 2/3 innings.

New York manager Terry Collins was ejected by home plate umpire Gary Cederstrom in the fifth inning after challenging a bang-bang play at first base in which Taylor Teagarden was called out.

Collins came back out of the dugout to argue when the ruling on the field was upheld upon review. He said Cederstrom handled the situation "like he's supposed to" and didn't offer an explanation on the decision. (Plays are reviewed in MLB's offices in New York.)

"(Cederstrom) said, 'The play stands. I don't have anything else to tell you," recalled Collins. "I said, 'Well, I have something to say.'"

DeGrom pitched his way out if a bases-loaded jam in the first inning with back-to-back strikeouts of Aramis Ramirez and Kris Davis. The Mets then took a 1-0 lead in the second after Granderson walked, went first-to-third on Bobby Abreu's single and scored on Duda's sacrifice fly.

But Scooter Gennett led off the third inning with a double for Milwaukee, went to third base on a line out and scored on Lucroy's groundout to tie the score.

And the Brewers took a 2-1 lead in the fourth inning after Aramis Ramirez doubled, went to third base on Davis' single and scored on Jean Segura's hit.

They scraped together another run in the fifth after Ryan Braun drew a leadoff walk, advanced to third on Lucroy's double and scored on Carlos Gomez's single.

Braun was thrown out at home plate in the seventh inning trying to score from first base on Lucroy's double to the right-center field gap. Center fielder Matt den Dekker didn't field the ball cleanly but got the ball in fast and second baseman Daniel Murphy's relay throw was on target to nab Braun.

Peralta had thrown 57 of his 92 pitches for strikes when he was lifted for reliever Zach Duke with a runner on first base on the seventh inning. Duke got Duda on a pop up and Rob Wooten retired Teagarden on a fly ball to end the inning.

Will Smith pitched around a single in a scoreless eighth for Milwaukee and Francisco Rodriguez threw a 1-2-3 ninth against his former team for his 20th save of the season.

Game Notes

Collins said he thinks the new replay system "has been good" but added about the Teagarden play, "I have seen closer plays than this one overturned. ... I'm not sure which cameras or angles they were looking at."

Box Score:

Scooter Gennett 2B512010000.286
Ryan Braun RF311000021.300
Jonathan Lucroy C503120000.341
Carlos Gomez CF502100001.310
Aramis Ramirez 3B411010002.250
Khris Davis LF401000001.258
Mark Reynolds 1B300000010.206
Jean Segura SS401100000.252
Wily Peralta P300000000.087
  Zach Duke P000000000.000
  Robert Wooten P000000000.000
  Lyle Overbay PH100000001.225
  Will Smith P000000000.000
  Francisco Rodriguez P000000000.000
Ruben Tejada SS400000001.223
Daniel Murphy 2B401000001.305
David Wright 3B400000001.271
Curtis Granderson LF-CF312010010.224
Bobby Abreu RF401000000.273
Lucas Duda 1B200100000.235
Taylor Teagarden C300000000.143
Matt den Dekker CF200000000.182
  Eric Campbell PH-LF100000000.295
Jacob deGrom P200000001.455
  Josh Edgin P000000000.000
  Carlos Torres P000000000.000
  Dana Eveland P000000000.000
  Andrew Brown PH101000000.194
  Vic Black P000000000.000

E_R.Tejada, L.Duda. LOB_Milwaukee 10, NY Mets 4. 2B_S.Gennett, J.Lucroy 2, A.Ramirez, C.Granderson. SF_L.Duda. GIDP_D.Wright. DP_Milwaukee 1 (J.Segura, S.Gennett and M.Reynolds); NY Mets 1 (R.Tejada and L.Duda).

Wily Peralta (W 6-5)6.141113092-572.90
Zach Duke (H 5)0.10000003-21.42
Robert Wooten (H 6)0.10000002-12.91
Will Smith (H 14)1.010000014-80.91
Francisco Rodriguez (S 20)1.000001016-102.01
Jacob deGrom (L 0-3)5.2933140107-803.44
Josh Edgin0.10000002-12.45
Carlos Torres1.220011027-172.72
Dana Eveland0.10000105-42.70
Vic Black1.000010013-60.90

T_3:09. A_20170.
Umpires_Home,Gary Cederstrom; First, Angel Hernandez; Second, Mark Ripperger; Third, Lance Barksdale.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...