What's Your Language?

Friday, November 30, 2012

Former Mets Great Mike Piazza Eligible for 2013 Hall of Fame Induction

Former New York Mets’ legend Mike Piazza heads a prestigious class of 24 first-time Baseball Hall of Fame eligible.

Piazza, Craig Biggio, and Curt Schilling are among first-time eligibles. Jack Morris, Jeff Bagwell and Tim Raines are the top holdover candidates.

Biggio topped the 3,000-hit mark — which always has been considered an automatic credential for Cooperstown — and spent his entire career with the Houston Astros.

Schilling was 216-146 and won three World Series championships, including his “bloody sock” performance for the Boston Red Sox in 2004.

Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens and Sammy Sosa are listed on the baseball Hall of Fame ballot for the first time, setting up an election sure to become a referendum on the Steroids Era.

The 37-player ballot was announced Wednesday.

More than 600 longtime members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America will vote through next month. Candidates need 75 percent for induction, and the results will be announced Jan. 9.

Complete List of Eligible Candidates

2013 BBWAA Candidates


MLB seasons

Yrs on BBWAA ballot

Sandy Alomar Jr. 1988-2007 1st 
Jeff Bagwell 1991-2005 3rd 
Craig Biggio 1988-2007 1st  
Barry Bonds 1986-2007 1st 
Jeff Cirillo 1994-2007 1st 
Royce Clayton 1991-2007 1st   
Roger Clemens 1984-2007 1st 
Jeff Conine 1990, 1992-2007 1st  
Steve Finley 1989-2007 1st 
Julio Franco 1982-94, 1996-97, 1999, 2001-07 1st 
Shawn Green 1993-2007 1st 
Roberto Hernandez 1991-2007 1st 
Ryan Klesko 1992-2007 1st 
Kenny Lofton 1991-2007 1st 
Edgar Martinez 1987-2004 4th   
Don Mattingly 1982-95 13th 
Fred McGriff 1986-2004 4th   
Mark McGwire 1986-2001 7th 
Jose Mesa 1987, 1990-2007 1st 
Jack Morris 1977-94 14th 
Dale Murphy 1976-93 15th 
Rafael Palmeiro 1986-2005 3rd   
Mike Piazza 1992-2007 1st 
Tim Raines 1979-2002 6th 
Reggie Sanders 1991-2007 1st 
Curt Schilling  1988-2007 1st 
Aaron Sele 1993-2007 1st 
Lee Smith 1980-97 11th 
Sammy Sosa 1988-2005, 2007 1st 
Mike Stanton 1989-2007 1st 
Alan Trammell 1977-96 12th 
Larry Walker 1989-2005 3rd   
Todd Walker 1996-2007 1st 
David Wells 1987-2007 1st 
Rondell White 1996-2007 1st 
Bernie Williams 1991-2006 2nd    
Woody Williams 1993-2007 1st 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...