What's Your Language?

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Mets 3B David Wright Favorite to Land 2012 Glove Glove Honors

According to Mark Simon of ESPN NY, Mets third baseman David Wright should be the favorite in the National League at that position. He is a finalist for the award, along with Aramis Ramirez of the Brewers and Chase Headley of the Padres.

Wright led all National League third basemen by a considerable margin in both advanced defensive metrics -- Defensive Runs Saved and Ultimate Zone Rating, and finished fourth in fielding percentage.

Wright previously won a Gold Glove Award in 2007 and 2008 but has not won it in each of the past three seasons.

If Wright won another Gold Glove, he would tie Rey Ordonez and Carlos Beltran for the second-most Gold Glove Awards in Mets history.

Ordonez won three as a shortstop from 1997 to 1999. Beltran won three straight from 2006 to 2008.

First baseman Keith Hernandez holds the Mets record for Gold Glove Awards with six.

The Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners will be announced during a special edition of Baseball Tonight Tuesday at 9:30 p.m. on ESPN2.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...